Top firefighters honored

Van Beek, Barrera named firemen of the year


Sunnyside Fireman Miguel Barrios was named top responder of the year at the 2017 Firemen’s Awards banquet held Saturday.


A.J. Barrera was named Career Firefighter of the Year. Barrera has been with the department for five years.


Longtime Sunnyside firefighter Alan Van Beek is congratulated by Fire Chief Aaron Markham as Van Beek was named Volunteer of the Year at the firemen’s annual awards banquet.

— With more than 40 years as a volunteer fireman, Alan Van Beek richly deserves a lot of accolades.

Saturday night, the longtime Sunnysider was named Sunnyside Fire Department Volunteer Firefighter of the Year at the department’s annual awards banquet held at El Valle Restaurant.

Van Beek and his fellow firefighters and department EMTs had a very busy year, Fire Chief Aaron Markham said.

“We responded to a total of 2,292 calls in 2017,” he said. “Of that, 1,813 calls were emergency medical service-related and fire and service calls.”

In addition to his volunteer honor, Van Beek received a 15-year service award, plus a pin and mantle clock for his volunteer efforts with the department.

Markham said Van Beek began his career as a firefighter with the Yakima County Fire District No. 5 in 1978.

Alejandro (A.J.) Barrera was named “Career Firefighter of the Year,” Markham said.

Barrera joined the Sunnyside department in 2013. He previously volunteered with the Mabton and Prosser fire departments before joining Sunnyside.

In other honors given, Ed Laverman, was honored for 50 years of volunteer services to the department.

Career fireman Paul Filicetti was presented his 25-year service pin and Micky Gillie was given his 10-year service pin.

Chief Markham also presented the department’s newest paid members Zach Heeren, who has been hired full-time, and new hire Lucas Flodin.

Flodin will be sworn in as the department’s newest member during ceremonies to be held before city council at its Jan. 22 meeting at the Law and Justice Center.

New volunteer firefighters introduced were Nelson Talamantes, Maria Olivera and Armando Zesate.

Serving as 2018 volunteer firefighters’ association officers are Aron Hunsaker, president, James Woodworth, vice president, Stephanie Honey-Morrow, secretary, and Jose Visser, treasurer.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment