Chambers earns top apple

Sunnyside School District Golden Apple winners pose for a photograph after last night’s ceremony at the high school auditorium.

Sunnyside School District
Sunnyside School District Golden Apple winners pose for a photograph after last night’s ceremony at the high school auditorium.


Mac Chambers

— “And the Golden Apple goes to..” was the refrain heard repeatedly last night as Sunnyside School District employees were recognized by their peers.

Mac Chambers, the district’s ‘go to person’ for a number of years, was named the district “Administrator of the Year during ceremonies held at the high school auditorium.

Chambers came out of retirement in January to serve as interim superintendent until Kevin McKay starts work July 1.

Chambers has served as a building principal and superintendent during his long career.

Golden apples were presented to individuals in a variety of capacities from para-educators to volunteers.

Jessica Caballero-Rangel of Harrison Middle School and Elvia Martinez of Pioneer Elementary School received para-educator of the Year honors.

Laura Simmons of Sierra Vista Middle School, Connie Spilles of Sierra Vista Middle School and Cruz Ramos, Sierra Vista Middle School received secretary/office staff of the year honors.

Peggy LaPierre of Outlook Elementary School and Lydia Garcia of Sun Valley Elementary School shared specialist of the year honors.

Hector Gomez in warehouse and delivery and Aurelia Candido in nutrition services received support staff member of the year honors.

Retired teacher Sue Ellen Davis, who volunteers at Sunnyside High School, was named volunteer of the year.

Sunnyside Presbyterian Church and Harrison Middle School were named as Community Partners of the Year.

Pioneer Elementary School teacher Heather Marro received a golden apple as elementary teacher of the Year.

Harrison Middle School teacher Gloria Atkinson and Sunnyside High School teacher Dan Thomas received teacher of the year honors.

Youth awards were also presented to Javier Rodriguez, art; Ana Cisneros, personal achievement and growth and change; Nate Maltos, athletic achievement; high school Key Club for group community service; Sulem Bernal for individual community service; Zoila Cisneros for leadership; and Caleb Mortenson for academic achievement.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment