Burn bans expanded

— With a burn ban already in place in Yakima County due to stagnant air conditions, the state’s Department of Ecology this morning expanded the ban to include nine other counties.

A Stage 1 ban is extended to Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas, Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Asotin and Walla Walla counties.

The bans were called because agency officials say air pollution could reach unhealthy levels with stagnant air conditions forecast for the region. They are expected to continue through 10 a.m. next Monday, when they could be called off or extended.

Under a Stage 1 ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited, including residential, agricultural and forest burning. Use of uncertified wood stoves, fireplaces, inserts, and other uncertified wood-burning devices is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat. Certified wood stoves, pellet stoves and other certified wood-burning devices are allowed.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment