Sunnyside School Board once again earns state honors

For the fourth consecutive year, the Washington State School Directors Association will honor the Sunnyside School District Board of Directors as a Board of Distinction.

Sunnyside is one of only 15 school boards from across the state that will be awarded the prestigious honor at the association’s annual conference on Saturday, Nov. 23, in Bellevue.

The annual Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards.

The standards, developed and adopted by the association in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement.

“This is further evidence of our school board’s commitment to effective leadership and continual improvement of their governance,” said Dr. Richard D. Cole, superintendent of the Sunnyside School District.

“We are fortunate to have a board of directors who are strong advocates for the work that is making a difference in our schools.”

The Sunnyside School District Board of Directors is comprised of five elected representatives from within the school district boundaries. Sunnyside board directors being honored this coming Saturday include Rocky Simmons, Michelle Perry, Sandra Linde, Dylan Gardner and Lorenzo Garza Jr.

“It’s an honor to be recognized again by the WSSDA leadership group,” said Simmons, Sunnyside’s school board president. “Our school board strives to bring the best to our community.”

The other 14 districts in the state to be honored as Boards of Distinction include Anacortes, Auburn, Ferndale, Franklin Pierce, Issaquah, Kent, Lake Stevens, Monroe, Port Angeles, Pullman, South Kitsap, Tumwater, University Place and Vancouver.

“Each of these boards has excelled in school governance,” said Debbie Long, president of the WSSDA. “The boards had to rigorously document how their work was making a real difference for students. They are exceptional models of effective school boards.”

The Washington State School Directors Association also honored the Sunnyside School District Board of Directors as the School Board of the Year in 2008.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment